LP chapters

February 16, 2009 at 4:47 am 2 comments

So, I must say that at first, I wasn’t so sure about this LP handbook. But now I’m really starting to like it. The chapters this week provide helpful advice like eliminating wordiness, writing with emphasis, and finding the right words to use. I thought that the Jargon section could really relate to my topic. Since I’m writing about green technology, I’m going to have to be careful about defining words that are particular to that field that some people might not understand. Also, it was interesting how they noted that using jargon when common language is appropriate will just make u sound “self important”.  Also, was it just me or was the examples for slang on page 164 in the yellow LP book hilarious? They said something like “Joey’s ride is totally pimped out”. Who says that and means it? I thought that was funny 😛

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Chapter 8 chapter 8

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. 05sti22  |  February 17, 2009 at 5:13 am

    I agree the LP Pg. 147-162 helped me a lot with our current Project 2. I had never realized before how much I pay attention to the words at the beginning and end of the sentence more than ones in the middle. That said I will be using sentence linking that from the LP handbook in my project 2 to enhance it.

    Reply
  • 2. jnbalazs  |  February 17, 2009 at 2:03 pm

    Yeah, I have to agree with you that the LP book is uniquely designed and constructed. One of the strong points about LP is the way it relates to college students in its topic selection. The book itself also does an excellant job of providing information about almost every aspect of writing.

    I am still sorta bummed that I bought the 60ish dollar verison of LP though.

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


February 2009
M T W T F S S
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425262728